The Gene Pool of Education

If you have not seen this video, I highly recommend it. I found it to be quite fitting as lately I have found myself referring to what has become ‘normalized’ in our education system, and how to fight those concepts. So many interesting ideas within this video, two that really caught my attention were the reasoning behind separating students into levels that we refer to as grades simply because of their age, as well as divergent thinking.

Side Note: How could story mapping like this be used in the classroom? I think that it could be a powerful tool – I mean, I was engaged the whole twelve minutes.

RSA Animate – Changing Education Paradigms – YouTube.

2 thoughts on “The Gene Pool of Education

  1. Thank you for sharing this video. I completely agree that the presentation of the material through the use of story mapping provides a powerful potential for attention capture. I think that it is especially attractive that it lends itself to a diverse learning community through the use of visual and audio concurrently.

    The video itself it packed full of information. I believe that the teacher education program that we have received at the University of Regina is aimed at developing our critical thinking skills, thus causing us to question pre-conceived norms of education. I am especially passionate when it comes to the hidden curriculum. I think it is so important to make decisions thinking about the underlying messages that students receive. The video discussed the importance of a purposeful education. If students see the benefit of the work they are asked to do, it is my belief that classroom management issues would lessen and students would be generally be more successful at school. Continuing with this concept of purpose, I immediately thought about your recent post about the true purpose of homework, or lack thereof. Teachers make difficult decisions everyday and I think it is important to not to get wrapped up in the small details, and see the big picture (the main purpose). The support of other educators is crucial is seeing this big picture, and I am reassured to know that our blogging community, created by ECMP 355, lends this support.

    Lastly, I would just like to commend you on the reflective and informative nature of your blogging! Keep up the great work 🙂

  2. Thanks Kyla! I find motivation in continuing to blog through through provoking comments such as yours! Also, I completely agree with your thought on focusing on what the big picture is. it is so true that as educators it is easy to get lost in the meaning of all of the little things. Sometimes you just need to step back and ask yourself what is the overall purpose.

Thoughts?

