Here it goes.

Well, well, well,  the time is here to write my first blog. I am feeling slightly anxious to begin, and continue to find myself erasing and re-writing every line I write. However, here it goes.

As this blog was created as part of a requirement for my ECMP 355 class, I will begin with a course-related post. For the first class session that was webcasted, I found that there were many concepts discussed that intrigued me. One that I was able to connect with personally, was the consideration of the influence of who our audience to our work is. Does it change the effort we put into our work? The discussion was focussed on technology in the classroom, and how by using blogs or other forms of technology, one can share the student’s work with a much larger audience. As a result, the students become more conscious of the effort and outcomes of their work. I connected with this concept 100%. Throughout the years I have spent in the education program at the U of R, I have gotten to know many of the professors quite well. Because of these relationships, I have definitely found myself putting in more effort to my projects. There are instances that I can remember where I have considered how I would most likely just finish the work much quicker and with less effort if it wasn’t being handed in to a certain professor. It is like I do not want to let down those who I know on a personal level. The importance of this consideration is how it affects my future students. For, if I find myself experiencing this, I am sure that I am not the only one. Therefore, it is also highly likely that my future students would feel the same. How can I use this to my advantage to help my future students put their best effort forward? Do I have to use technology so they have a larger audience to hold them accountable for their work or, is there a way to help them experience the same level of accountability when only handing in their work to me?

2 thoughts on “Here it goes.

  1. Part of why many struggle with blogging is the perception that it has to be perfect. We’re used to only seeing the best student work in the hallway and worry about what happens when we aren’t perfect. If we use this space as a thinking and playing space, it frees us up to focus on learning and asking good questions and engaging in conversation. That’s blogging at its best.

  2. Hey Jane, nice to see a familiar name in the class :)! I felt the same way with the anxiousness with writing my first blog but after getting that first one out of the way I already feel much more at ease about the whole thing.
    I totally agree with you on how the relationships with profs changes the quality and effort you put into your work or even the amount you participate in class. I think 90% of the profs in education do an excellent job of creating these relationships with students and it makes a huge difference. After experiencing the opposite in many business classes, where classes are larger and the prof might not even know your name, I know first hand what a difference this can make on holding students accountable and also making their voices feel important.

Thoughts?

