Cheating? Who Needs It?

This morning when I was on my google reader, I found an article from another blog that I am subscribed to cooperative catalyst. It is entitled, 10 Ways to Cheat-proof Your ClassroomWhat I really enjoyed about this article was the philosophy of education that was hidden behind the list. I also found it interesting that within the list of ten, were two topics that  myself and my fellow peers have had recent blog posts on; the controversy of no homework was listed, as well as not giving students zeros. At the top of this list it was discussed how a trusting relationship in itself will help reduce cheating. I do believe this to be true from my own personal experience of the effort that I feel the need to put forth, even at the latest hours of the night, when I will be handing it in to a professor whom I respect. Overall, the list covers many practices for a classroom that I believe would provide for an amazing learning environment for all.

5 thoughts on “Cheating? Who Needs It?

  1. I’ve always heard how making assignments meaningful can help with student engagement but I’ve never thought that it could help prevent cheating. I couldn’t agree more with the statement “we are motivated by a system of rewards and punishments.” Teachers need to push themselves to create lessons and assignments that focus more on the process of learning rather than the product of learning so that their students can remove their “gotta-get-this-right” blinders. This is a great article, Jane. I’m going to add it to my bookmarks, asap!

  2. I couldn’t agree more. In addition, many times you will hear the comment “Is this going to be on the test?” We need to break students thoughts of only focusing on what they are going to be tested on. As you said the learning process is what needs to be focussed on, as teachers we need to shift the students focus to the learning process having the highest level of value as well!

  3. This was a really great article Jane! The tips that were mentioned were really simple and yet some I’ve never thought of. I believe if these strategies were put into place in a classroom they would help students want to be successful learners. This would also allow students to have focus less on “cheating” in order to gain a good mark. Their focus could then shift to having better quality work by doing something that interests them!

  4. I totally agree that when a teacher is well respected students will be less likely to cheat. It is so obvious that there are so many positive things that come along with having a strong relationship with your students, and gaining this respect is one of them. Taking the time and making the effort to build these relationships with each studnet can make our lives as teachers much easier in the end. This article appears to have lots of great ideas so thanks for sharing it!

Thoughts?

